DIY Modern Calligraphy

Modern calligraphy is all the rage in wedding collateral these days.  From addressing envelopes to signage — a loopy, whimsical typeface lightens the mood and brings out the joy of the occasion.

modern calligraphy_2

I really wanted to include modern calligraphy in my wedding, but I didn’t know anything about it.  So, I signed up for a trial with Skillshare and watched their modern calligraphy video tutorials. I didn’t even purchase calligraphy pens, I just used a regular pen (or chalkboard marker) and thickened the lines where they would be if I was using calligraphy materials.  I practiced a bit and can now scribble modern calligraphy all over the place!

Pro Tip: Keep a few images handy to remind remind yourself what you want  each of your letters to look like.  I always pull my reference images up when writing “calligraphy”.

Happy Handwriting!

Leave a Reply

