All About Wedding Decor

This is the first on a series of posts about our experience wedding planning including our DIY projects and tips for saving money.  I originally got the idea for Empire State South as a wedding venue from this post on style me pretty and for those of you who are planning on a smaller wedding (anything under 100) I highly, highly recommend having your wedding at a restaurant.

Let me start by saying that I had my heart set on a barn wedding.  My wedding Pinterest board was lit up with photos of wooden structures and string lights for the longest time.  However, the logistics and cost of having a barn wedding in December were beyond my abilities and budget as I had little desire to coordinate rental equipment, caterers, transportation, etc. to a remote site in the middle of winter.  That being said, I loved the rustic wooden feel of the decor at Empire State South — none of which I had to set up myself.  We bought out the entire restaurant for the evening and used their tables, chairs, silverware and had no worries or issues with delays in the kitchen or meal preference cards because the staff there does a dinner service every single night and is adept at dealing with timing from the kitchen and food allergies.  As for cost, the restaurant didn’t require a room rental fee, just a food and beverage minimum (money that we would have spent anyways on food… and beverages).

Needless to say, the food was excellent, the venue was beautiful and we love Empire State South (and Hugh Acheson & his unibrow)!

Leave a Reply

